MOOC Module 2 (#MENTEPCourse Learning Diary)

THIS is my learning diary for module 2. The title of module 2 is ‘how can TET competence be meaningfully assessed‘. The module is based around reflecting on my own self/peer assessment.

Personal note for the European Schoolnet Academy

This module involves completing a quiz. Whatever this is dressed up as, it means that the course delegates have to do a test based on knowledge retention and regurgitation of information. I feel very uncomfortable about this within the context of this course and I believe it should not be used. Why do we have to do a quiz which will mean that we may not be able to make progress on the course? This is a course that is based on developing skills not stopping that development at some point? Surely development is an ongoing thing and should not be tested? Although I passed the test I found myself to be guessing what was actually meant by the question on occasion. I found the questions difficult to understand.

The learning objectives for this module are:

1. Understand the principles of effective teacher self-assessment.

2. Appreciate how teacher self-assessment can support innovative technology-enhanced teaching.

3. Reflect on the process of self-assessment, and in engaging in it yourself, identify what you find personally challenging and how you might improve on these aspects.

Questions to reflect upon are:

  1. Why and how is self/peer assessment important to me? See 2.2 and 2.3 below.
  2. When have I engaged in self and peer assessment and what benefits have I gained? See 2.3 below.
  3. What aspects did I find most challenging? Being able to take the criticism about my delivery of learning. I have now learned to accept this and move on with improving my skills/competence. Peer assessment has helped me to improve my own resilience.
  4. How often do I take part in this type of assessment and what stops me doing it more often?  See 2.3 below. I also take part in self-assessment after every experience I have of delivering learning.
  5. What precise gains do I have and what concerns do I have? My main gain is to always look at improving my teaching practice and to achieve the points as outlined in 2.2 below.

One thing that I have picked up is that there should be a focus on certain competencies and not everything at the same time. I need to agree with a peer or peers what those competencies will be from the start. When being critical, make it constructive and positive and base it on a criteria. Don’t be sensitive to criticism. Compare your own self-assessment with the peer review fro a more thorough analysis.

Something that should be done in English schools is to create more opportunity to observe other teachers practice in the classroom. This would build on the comments about peer assessment mentioned throughout this blog.

It is important that we have descriptors to be able to reflect upon performance to base our self and peer assessments on. In England we have the Ofsted Teaching & Learning Level Descriptors (Sept 2015) which can be used to develop the agreed competencies and the focus for improvement.

2.2 What are the principles of effective teacher self-assessment?

For me the simple outcome of this is that in every lesson a teacher should be reflecting on the experience that the learners have had. Was it engaging? Was it interesting? Why were the outcomes met/not met? Did anybody get left behind and why? How do I know that every child made progress? What do I need to do in order to adapt the learning for the next session? My opinion is that learning is like a journey where the destination can be found by using different routes to the destination. Occasionally the mode of transport or the route needs to be changed in order to reach the target destination for every young person.

2.3 How can teacher self-assessment support innovative TET?

For the past year I have been using this personal blog to put my ideas for teaching and learning into an online learning community. I use Twitter and Facebook as my platform to engage constructive peer feedback. Twitter has been especially useful to use as a learning community. This has helped to improve my own CPD through learning from others and their feedback on my ideas. I think that blogging has helped me to write down the things that I have learnt through my own experiences and from discussions with others. This has helped me to develop my own pedagogical performance. Through using these platforms I have been able to rigorously reflect on my own skills and to make improvements. The key to self-assessment and reflection in my view is that the findings are put into practice.

I have also had the opportunity to take part in developing two different online learning platforms while working at ASDAN. The learning platforms I have been involved in the development of are Lifeskills Challenge and Short Courses Online. Both these online platforms are aimed at developing the skills of young people for life and employment. I have found that these not only engage young people but also develop teaching competence in TET strategies.

THIS is Module 2… Done!

badge (2)

Featured Imagehttp://www.europeanschoolnetacademy.eu My second Mozilla Badge showing that i have completed the second module of the course.

Leave a Reply

