Learning to Lead: reflections on a new role.

Advice for a school leader. Great tips on people/communication skills that ALL leaders should display…

andywarner78

Ten years ago I was in an interview with my then headteacher. I was on a temporary fixed term contract and had written to him asking to be considered for a permanent post prior to the job going out to tender. I had done this on the advice of my then HoD, and it turned out to be the right advice. The head gave me a new contract and told me he was pleased with the progress I’d made as an NQT. But his final question really threw me: “Where do you see yourself when you’re my age? Where do you see your career going?” This wasn’t something I could answer as I had never given it any thought, and I believe I had good reason for this.

The first two years in any teaching career are hugely challenging. During my PGCE and NQT years I’d taught in three different…

View original post 1,049 more words

Leave a Reply

